ANU structure 1961


Rt Hon. Viscount Bruce of Melbourne


Dr HC Coombs


Emeritus Professor Leonard Huxley


  • Standing Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Buildings and Grounds Committee
  • Advisers on Legislation
  • Pro-Chancellor's Committee
  • Publications Committee

Professorial Board

Board of the Institute of Advanced Studies

Board of the School of General Studies

  • Standing Committee
  • Promotions Committee
  • Matriculation Committee

Institute of Advanced Studies

John Curtin School of Medical Research

Subject Subject Head
Biochemistry Professor Hugh Ennor
Experimental pathology Professor Frederick Courtice
Medical chemistry Professor Adrien Albert
Microbiology Professor Frank Fenner
Physical biochemistry Professor Alexander Ogston
Physiology Professor John Eccles
Biological inorganic chemistry unit Professor Francis Dwyer


Research School of Pacific Studies

Subject Subject Head
Anthropology and Sociology Professor John Barnes
Economics Professor John Crawford (and Director)
Far Eastern History Professor Charles FitzGerald
Geography Professor Oskar Spate
International Relations Arthur Burns
Pacific History Professor James Davidson
New Guinea Research Unit Dr David Bettison


Research School of Physical Sciences

Subject Subject Head
Astronomy Professor Bart Jan Bok
Geophysics Professor Conrad Jaeger
Nuclear Physics Professor Ernest Titterton
Particle Physics Professor Mark Oliphant(and Director)
Theoretical Physics Professor Kenneth Le Couteur
Electron & Ion Diffusion Unit Emeritus Professor Leonard Huxley


Research School of Social Sciences

Subject Subject head
Demography Wilfrid Borrie
Economics Professor Trevor Swan
History Professor Keith Hancock (Director)
Law Professor Geoffrey Sawer
Political Science Professor Leicester Webb
Social Philosophy Professor Percy Partridge
Statistics Professor Patrick Moran


School of General Studies

Principal Professor Herbert Burton

Faculty of Arts

Subject Subject Head
Classics Associate Professor Kay Masterman
English Professor Alec Hope
History Professor Manning Clark
Mathematics Professor Archibald Brown
Modern Languages Professor Derek Scales
Oriental Studies Professor Hans Bielenstein
Philosophy Professor Kurt Baier
Psychology Professor Cecil Gibb


Faculty of Economics

Subject Subject Head
Economic History Professor Graham Tucker
Economics Professor Heinz Arndt
Political Science Professor Fin Crisp
Statistics Professor Edward Hannan


Faculty of Law

Professor Harold Ford


Faculty of science

Subject Subject Head
Botany Professor Lindsay Pryor
Chemistry Professor Neville Hambly
Geology Professor David Brown
Physics Professor David Dunbar
Zoology Professor James Smyth


Administrative structure

Position Person
Registrar Ross Hohnen
Bursar William Hamilton
Accountant John Ryan
University Architect Bruce Litchfield
Librarian Jacob Graneek
University House Master Professor Dale Trendall

Hall of Residence

  • Bruce Hall